Joseph Giles Elementary

Websites for Students

LANGUAGE ARTS

ABC/123     http://www.abcya.com/

Flashlight Books     https://www.scholastic.com/teachers/activities/teaching-content/flashlight-readers

Highlights Kids     https://www.highlightskids.com/

Read Write Think     http://www.readwritethink.org/

Storyline Online     http://www.storylineonline.net

The 'Solved' Mysteries of Harris Burdick    http://hrsbstaff.ednet.ns.ca/davidc/6c_files/documents/mysteries/divmysteries.htm

Tumble Books   http://www.tumblebooklibrary.com

Ultimate Guide to Reading Comprehension     http://www.supersummary.com/reading-comprehension-guide

Wordle     http://www.wordle.net

Wordsearch     http://www.abcya.com/word_search_jr.htm

 

MATHEMATICS

Catch the Stars     http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/mathgames/catchthestars/addition/catchthestars10.htm

Create a Graph     https://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/createagraph/

Fact Hound     http://www.facthound.com/

Fact Monster     https://www.factmonster.com/

Funbrain     https://www.funbrain.com/math-zone

Funbrain Math     http://www.fun4thebrain.com/addition.html

IXL Math     https://sg.ixl.com/math/

Math is Fun     http://www.mathsisfun.com/

Multiplication     http://www.multiplication.com/games/all-games

National Library of Virtual Manipulatives     http://nlvm.usu.edu/

Place Value Games     http://www.familylearning.org.uk/place_value_games.html

 

FRENCH

Play & Learn French     http://www.literacycenter.net/play_learn/french-language-games.php

French Games     http://www.french-games.net/

 

HEALTH

Canada's Food Guide     https://www.canada.ca/en/health-canada/services/canada-food-guides.html

Caring School Community     https://www.collaborativeclassroom.org/programs/caring-school-community/

Colgate Dental Games for Kids     http://www.colgate.ca/app/Kids-World/CA/EN/Games-And-Activities.cvsp

Developing Good Oral Hygiene     http://www.growingkids.co.uk/DevelopingGoodOralHygiene.html

Healthy Teeth     http://www.healthyteeth.org/

Kids Health     http://kidshealth.org/en/kids/digestive-system.html

PBS Kids     http://pbskids.org/

Taking Care of Your Teeth     http://kidshealth.org/en/kids/teeth-care.html

 

Social Studies

23 Black Canadians Who Made a Difference     http://www.cbc.ca/news2/interactives/black-history-month/

Black History Canada     http://www.blackhistorycanada.ca/

Black History in Canada     https://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/immigration/history-ethnic-cultural/Pages/blacks.aspx    

Canadian History     https://www.historicacanada.ca/

Citizenship & Immigration Games     https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/canadians/celebrate-being-canadian/teachers-corner.html

Gaels in Nova Scotia     https://museum.novascotia.ca/resources/gaels

Imagination Soup - 30 Fun Geography Activities     https://imaginationsoup.net/2012/07/04/play-and-learn-geography-activities-for-kids/

Nova Scotia Museum     https://museum.novascotia.ca/

 

SCIENCE

American Museum of Natural History     https://www.amnh.org/

Archaeology for Kids     http://archaeology.mrdonn.org/games.html

Bacteria     http://commtechlab.msu.edu/sites/dlc-me/zoo/zbmain.html

Canadian Space Agency     http://www.asc-csa.gc.ca/eng/default.asp

Discovery Education     http://www.discoveryeducation.com/

Earth Rangers     https://www.earthrangers.com/membership?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIlJ2f2ort2QIV3bXACh2DnAgSEAAYAiAAEgIQefD_BwE

Ecokids     http://ecokids.ca/teachers/

Exploratorium     https://www.exploratorium.edu/explore

Green Schools     https://www.greenschoolsns.ca/

NASA for Students     https://www.nasa.gov/audience/forstudents/index.html

National Geographic Kids     https://kids.nationalgeographic.com/

10 Paper Planes     http://www.10paperairplanes.com/

Soil Net     http://www.soil-net.com/

The Space Place     https://spaceplace.nasa.gov/

Starfall     http://www.starfall.com/

Water Cycle     http://player.discoveryeducation.com/views/hhView.cfm?guidAssetId=087777c8-4ff0-45d2-878f-e7cd90f7ee19

Weather Wiz Kids     http://www.weatherwizkids.com/

    

ART

ABCya! Paint     http://www.abcya.com/abcya_paint.htm

Free Clip Art     http://www.free-clipart-pictures.net/

Hello Kids     http://www.hellokids.com/c_25741/drawing-for-kids/online-drawing-tool-for-kids/masterpiece-online-drawing-tool

How to Draw Archives     https://www.artforkidshub.com/how-to-draw/

Kidmons     http://kidmons.com/game/paint-online

SketchUp     https://www.sketchup.com/

 

TECHNOLOGY

Dance Mat Typing     http://www.bbc.co.uk/guides/z3c6tfr

I Spy Games     https://www.highlightskids.com/

Keyboarding Games     http://www.learninggamesforkids.com/keyboarding_games.html

Student Email Set-Up     https://selfservice.gnspes.ca/cgi-bin/account.pl